Why don't notifications pop up on my screen?

• Thread starter Android Central Question
  • Start date
A

Android Central Question

I have a Samsung Galaxy A20 running Android version 9. I'm new to Android, having switched from an iPhone 6. I'm puzzled by the fact that when I get an email, text message, or other notification, my phone plays the notification sound but nothing pops up on my screen. At first I thought it was just because the screen was off, but when I wake it up, there's no notification to be seen. Is this the way it's supposed to be? I've looked at my Notifications settings and I don't see anything that allows me to tell it to show notifications as they come in. Is there some setting somewhere that I'm missing? Or an app I can install that fixes this? When I decided to switch, it never occurred to me that Android notifications would be so far behind what iPhones offer.

A second notification issue that has me scratching my head is that there seems to be only one notification tone, regardless of what kind of notification it is. Again, on the iPhone, I could set one tone for text messages, another for new emails, another for missed calls, another for voicemail messages... not to mention different ringtones and text tones on a per contact basis. Again, is this how it's supposed to be? Is there an app that fixes it?

hallux

Q&A Team
Jul 7, 2013
Visit site
So, this may get complicated...

In settings, select notifications. If you A20 running Pie is like my Tab S3 running Pie, in here you will be able to select each app for notifications to be shown. When you tap on each app, you will have a list of possible notifications that app can post. If you tap each notification you will have options for how those notifications show/post.