Just rooted, but now have a Nandroid issue

tfrank10

Jun 15, 2011
Visit site
Hi all, newbie here. I just rooted, and went smoothly. At least I think so. However, now in my first time in ROM Manager, I'm attempting to create my Nandroid backup (following the guide thread in the forums) . I've tried both the "Backup Current ROM" button, and also through "Reboot into Recovery" mode. However, each time it starts rebooting and gets stuck at the white screen with the green HTC logo. It's been that way for an hour now.

I tried booting through the "hold volume down and press power" method to get to the bootloader, and then selected "recovery", but it does the same thing and freezes at the white HTC reboot screen.

Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance.

opjones

Oct 14, 2010
Visit site
^THAT. ALSO GO BACK INTO ROM MANAGER AND FLASH RECOVERY ONE MORE TIME. Do you have a superuser icon in your app drawer?

project.in.process

May 18, 2010
Visit site
@zero: I will check.
@opjones. Yes, I do have super user

i'm betting you still have a PG05IMG.zip file on the root of your sd card

did you rename/move it from the root of your card? if you just rooted--i'm thinking you might have overlooked that step before doing anything else. most likely that file is what's causing your issue.

one way to fix for this particular instance (among many)
remove card>insert into sd card reader on computer>explore>rename the PG05IMG.zip file to some other name OR move it into a folder>put card back into phone>boot up & try again

Last edited:

tfrank10

Jun 15, 2011
Visit site
@project: thanks. I actually deleted the file, but it still is freezing...is there a reason to rename it instead of deleting?

largeselection

Nov 4, 2009
Visit site
If you rename it then you can keep it on there in case you need it in the future. I just deleted it when I did it.

Did you flash recovery again after deleting that file and then try rebooting into recovery?

tfrank10

Jun 15, 2011
Visit site