Help asap please :(

Andy19

May 13, 2011
Visit site
Good afternoon,

Rooting my ThunderBolt was a bad idea to begin with and of course I had nothing but problems.

I did the factory reset which cleared everything, or so I thought, besides that Super User program. Everything was almost fine until thirty minutes ago.

I had no idea you were not supposed to do a software update when rooted! This is my problem. The phone tries to reset and install, installs a little bit and then brings up the ! in the triangle logo. I can reset the phone, but each time it just gets to the main screen it powers down to reinstall the new software.

If I could please get some help, it would be greatly appreciated. I have had this phone for a week and I don't have insurance on it.

rustypixel

Aug 4, 2010
Visit site
I'm no expert by any means, but try this, reboot into recovery and clear cache and dalvik then restart your phone. I think it's going to ask you if you want to install or apply the update then you just opt not to. Not 100% sure this will work but I did read the tip somewhere on the many forums I peruse.

Good luck.

Smittyn804

Mar 28, 2011
Visit site
Have you booted into Hboot by holding the "power" and vol. down buttons while restarting? If you have CWM you can get into recovery. I would try to get to that point and search methods from there. Hope someone with a bit more knowledge can help you from here.

Andy19

May 13, 2011
Visit site
I'm no expert by any means, but try this, reboot into recovery and clear cache and dalvik then restart your phone. I think it's going to ask you if you want to install or apply the update then you just opt not to. Not 100% sure this will work but I did read the tip somewhere on the many forums I peruse.

Good luck.