So I've been using an iPhone 3GS (the old one) for a couple of years and have regularly used Skype to video conference on the phone with my kids back home. It has been a little difficult because the 3GS doesn't have a front facing camera. So I'd have to use a mirror, etc.

I bought the Charge in part because it has a front facing camera and I was looking forward to using Skype with it to do the same thing I had done on my iPhone....but....

Does Skype not have video conference capability on the Charge? It doesn't appear to. Is there another alternative that works cross platform? (So my kids can use their i-whatevers or Skype on the desktop and I can use my charge?)

Like the phone...but really surprised about some of the things this phone doesn't yet have....or am I wrong about this?

Thanks for the help.
    05-18-2011 10:42 PM
    there are a number of cross platform compatible pgrms but to save you headache.... give it 30 days .. i hate to say that when i know you would love to conference with your kids, but the pgrms are still not updated to work 100% ((screen sideways audio lag etc...) but also know that Google Chat will soon provide video chat on your mobile device and this is what I am personally waiting for the most
    05-19-2011 12:43 AM
    there are a number of cross platform compatible pgrms but to save you headache.... give it 30 days .. i hate to say that when i know you would love to conference with your kids, but the pgrms are still not updated to work 100% ((screen sideways audio lag etc...) but also know that Google Chat will soon provide video chat on your mobile device and this is what I am personally waiting for the most
    Thanks for the response. I'm really loving the charge with a few exceptions. This is one of them as is the annoying copy-and-paste (lack of native universal across device support).