Droid Charge EE4 update improvements

anon(344812)

Jun 2, 2011
Visit site
As for rooting there's always the possibility that an update can cause trouble when trying to root a phone, but in some cases not. Either way I'm positive this update is being looked at by the right people and they are taking the necessary steps to make it rootable asap if it isn't already. As for a custom rom, it won't matter as the rom will replace this build with whatever build the rom is centered upon.
So if I'm understanding correctly, this update is really only usable for stock users, as custom ROMs (as of right now) will just revert the entire phone back to a pre-EE4 build?

Forgive me for being a novice here. I've been 3 years on iOS. How it worked there is if there was a new FW update by Apple and you were jailbroken, you simply never installed the official release. You had to wait until developers made their own custom version of that latest firmware and installed that. It sounds like that is the case here?

DroidXcon

Oct 21, 2010
Visit site
So if I'm understanding correctly, this update is really only usable for stock users, as custom ROMs (as of right now) will just revert the entire phone back to a pre-EE4 build?

Forgive me for being a novice here. I've been 3 years on iOS. How it worked there is if there was a new FW update by Apple and you were jailbroken, you simply never installed the official release. You had to wait until developers made their own custom version of that latest firmware and installed that. It sounds like that is the case here?

we already have it rooted and already have what we need to build custom roms im just having a little problem with my sdcards i dont know if it was the update that is making the card write protected or what ...it could just be my phone lets hope thats the case for everyone.. not so much for me though lol

anon(344812)

Jun 2, 2011
Visit site