anyway to flash a rom through the stock recovery??

Sandeth

Sep 26, 2011
Visit site
Hi I am really new to flashing rom and the android central community. The title says it all, is there Anyway to flash a rom through renaming it update.zip in stock recovery.Mind you I am unrooted, so if I need root could someone one point me in the direction of an app that roots through my phone and not through a computer please:D

Thanks to whom ever responds to my noobish question

icu

Oct 29, 2010
Visit site
Hi I am really new to flashing rom and the android central community. The title says it all, is there Anyway to flash a rom through renaming it update.zip in stock recovery.Mind you I am unrooted, so if I need root could someone one point me in the direction of an app that roots through my phone and not through a computer please:D

I don't think that is possible because in order to make the root stick I thin you first need to install new recovery and it is from this Clockwork Recovery that you can flash a new ROM/Kernel/Radio.

I'm sure there is a way to establish root without using Odin, but I'm not sure where to find up to date information on how to do this because everyone pretty much uses Odin as a starting point (at least I do).

Is there a reason why you wouldn't want to do this via Odin?
If you think you could try Odin then you could see Landshark's links on the last page of this thread - http://forums.androidcentral.com/ve...s/55789-discussion-fascinate-root-how-33.html

Once you use Odin to flash a rooted mod you can then easily install the mod of your choice via CWM. Personally, I find Odin much easier - you just need to be a bit careful and it can really speed up the process. Less steps in which to make a mistake.

Landshark

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site

There is no way to root your phone without a computer. The easiest way to root the Fascinate right now is to follow these instructions:

Follow the instructions by killahamsammich in post #2 of this thread: