Rooted and de-bloated... now problems with market?

fatkidkustomz

Oct 26, 2010
Visit site
Long story short, I think I messed up. I rooted and de-bloated. Everything is fine but now I can't get anything to download from the market. I did move a few DMR files to the SD card but I put them back after I discovered I was having problems. Any ideas? Or should I look for something I moved to the SD I shouldn't have?

Adiliyo

Oct 17, 2009
Visit site
have you tried the normal stuff?

clear the market's data / cache, fix permissions, reboot?

when my market got stuck at the installing screen (even after a reboot and all the apps had installed) the data clear did the trick for me.

fatkidkustomz

Oct 26, 2010
Visit site
No I haven't actually. Mind giving me a quick step by step to get to that?

I'm still a newb at all this. Just got this thing a week ago on best buy's freebie deal, and only rooted and de-bloated in order to hopefully gain some battery life (which worked with awesome results).

Chris3D

Sep 21, 2010
Visit site
Check to make sure you didn't move/remove the gtalkservice.apk. The market somehow depends on that and won't download anything without it.

fatkidkustomz

Oct 26, 2010
Visit site
gtalkservice.apk is still in place. Now instead of hanging up, the market just keeps force closing. Hmmm... I guess it's time to start putting things back one by one. Hopefully that might fix it.

The error I get is:

Sorry!
The application Market (process com.android.vending)
has stopped unexpectedly.
Please try again
Force Close

Last edited:

fatkidkustomz

Oct 26, 2010
Visit site
Cleared cache and data, rebooted, still get the same thing. It'll either hang up on the "Starting Download" screen, or give me a force close error.

The error I get is:

Sorry!
The application Market (process com.android.vending)
has stopped unexpectedly.
Please try again
Force Close

joebob2000

Jun 18, 2010
Visit site