Custom Roms Are AMAZING!!

jisley10

Oct 6, 2010
Visit site
During my time owning my Fascinate from its launch date I have gone from total noob, to semi noob, to someone who halfway knows something about the beauty that is Custom ROMs/Kernels. The only reason I'm doing this post is to share my love of the ability to completely customize my phone to my liking with a custom Rom and to help anyone who has any questions about flashing ROMS to their device. Please share your ROM of choice is this post, and if there any noobs (it's ok I was one 3 months ago) with questions on taking the flashing plunge, please feel free to ask away!!

Reactions: jbr05ki

jisley10

Oct 6, 2010
Visit site
Just to share: I am currently running my Fascinate with JT's Super Clean ROM (DJ05) with JT's 1.54 Kernel. The snappiness of these two in comparison to the stock Rom and Kernel are indescribable.

dragemd

Dec 19, 2010
Visit site
I'm a mac user and have rooted my vzw fascinate using Corey's mac method successfully. I have Rom manager (premium with clockworkmod recovery), but I have not done anything with Odin. I did however flash Clockworkmod recovery and it now says "current recovery: clockworkmod 2.5.1.0" in the Rom manger. I'm wanting to flash the Superdark rom and a voodoo 5 kernel. So my question is, do I need to do something with Odin or can I just flash by mounting the sd card on my mac and place the downloaded rom and kernel on the sd card and go to "install rom from sd card" inside Rom manger? Hopefully all of this makes sense, but if it does'nt or you need more info just let me know.
Btw, I also have superuser from the market (skipped the superuser step in Corey's instructions), appbrain and titanium backup pro.

Kevin Gossett

Retired Moderator
Sep 9, 2010
Visit site
If you plan on going to a DJ05 ROM and kernal you need to flash the DJ05 modem with Odin, otherwise you'll run into all sorts of issues

jisley10

Oct 6, 2010
Visit site