OS question

blacksheepdj

Dec 7, 2010
Visit site
So I'm a total noob, but I'm slightly confused - what OS is this phone on? Still 2.1? Everything I've read tonight mentions how the phone shipped with 2.1 but "would receive 2.2 in November". Yet I see no mention of 2.2 actually hitting. Am I missing something, or are we still waiting?

I'll probably be going to check this phone out in-person tomorrow, but figured I'd start researching tonight...

Thanks for any help...

DroidXcon

Oct 21, 2010
Visit site
So I'm a total noob, but I'm slightly confused - what OS is this phone on? Still 2.1? Everything I've read tonight mentions how the phone shipped with 2.1 but "would receive 2.2 in November". Yet I see no mention of 2.2 actually hitting. Am I missing something, or are we still waiting?

I'll probably be going to check this phone out in-person tomorrow, but figured I'd start researching tonight...

Thanks for any help...

Its still running 2.1, we still dont know when 2.2 is coming,,,,yet this is a great phone, i own a Droid X and a Fascinate. and although my Droid X is powerful and fast at moving data, IMO the Fascinate is a much smoother expeirence. And after looking at the super AMOLED screen all day all other screens seem dull in comparison.

Hope that helped, if you have any other questions please let us know

Reactions: blacksheepdj

KH29

Sep 14, 2010
Visit site

Thanks for any help...

Yes, the Fascinate is still on 2.1 (Eclair). Samsung is supposedly going to release 2.2 (Froyo) on the Galaxy S to all US carriers by the end of the year, but other than that there is no definite date. It's beginning to look like we will not see it until sometime next year.

Chris Kerrigan

Nov 16, 2009
Visit site
As of now, it is still running 2.1. We're unsure when exactly we'll be receiving 2.2 but there's a good chance we're getting closer to that date.

You can check out this thread for all of the latest talk on FroYo for the Fascinate.

Welcome to the forums!