Should I root my Galaxy Nexus? What are the pros?

alexadigiacomo

May 15, 2012
Visit site
I'm a real newbie. I've never rooted or unlocked a phone in my life. I'm also pretty stupid w/ technology.

I love my Nexus. Never had an issue w/ the mic, signal issues or anything else people seem to have problems with.

I would like to have the most current Operating System such as Jellybean. I would like it if you guys told me what the benefits are of rooting. I'm aware it would void the warranty, yadda yadda yadda.

What are the pros and cons? I'm really on the fence here.

gabbott

Trusted Member
Mar 22, 2010
Visit site
For one, as you mentioned you want to try Jelly Bean, if you root you don't have to wait. On my Sprint gnex, JB runs great.

dmmarck

Retired Moderator
Dec 28, 2011
Visit site
I'm a real newbie. I've never rooted or unlocked a phone in my life. I'm also pretty stupid w/ technology.

I love my Nexus. Never had an issue w/ the mic, signal issues or anything else people seem to have problems with.

I would like to have the most current Operating System such as Jellybean. I would like it if you guys told me what the benefits are of rooting. I'm aware it would void the warranty, yadda yadda yadda.

What are the pros and cons? I'm really on the fence here.

Please read my Don't Panic guide, located in my signature :).

Reactions: 2defmouze

Crossfire503

Jan 16, 2011
Visit site
I want to second reading the Don't Panic! guide.