Annoyed Samsung?

jimbosi

Jul 21, 2011
Visit site
This morning, Samsung VP Nick DiCarlo was interviewed on Fox Business about the G-Nex. His comments about the Verizon release were interesting. Specifically, he said essentially that the release is in Verizon's hands now, and it's up to them to announce a date.

[YT]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLATjBC_x2Q[/YT]

I'm no expert in corporate communications or public affairs. However, I do know that talking in someone's stead can be perilous. It seems to me that Samsung wants Verizon to release the G-Nex as much as we want it. I sensed frustration from DiCarlo.

Google/Samsung had the ICS event over three weeks ago. I'm sure they're depending on that inertia to sustain interest. The more time passes, the more customers will pass the G-Nex by because something better will invariably come along.

I think Verizon was/is in a quandary. They have three manufacturers (Moto (Razr), HTC (Rezound), and Samsung (G-Nex)) all releasing phones in a very narrow window right before the holidays. Further, Samsung is a direct competitor to the other two. Samsung is potentially annoyed with Verizon and its silence regarding the release date.

I think the interview is, in part, an attempt to exert pressure on Verizon to make an announcement. Vendors overseas have made announcements.

Finally, the very vehicle was curious, especially in relation to the apparent absence of other aspect of an ad campaign. It seems to me these business interviews are intended to amplify buzz generated by a proper campaign. This appearance just seems to stick out.

Thoughts?

ManBearPig618

Aug 29, 2011
Visit site