can someone explain the signal strength?

NY Jets_6

Dec 21, 2011
Visit site
I see ppl saying stuff like "my signal strength is -75 dBm" etc ... but what's that supposed to mean? What's good and what's not?

Sorry I'm new to this whole Android experience.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

oresteez

Apr 12, 2011
Visit site
i can't really explain it right now...
but i think you can find it by going into your settings, then about phone, ...
and the lower the number, the better...

revickulous2001

Oct 7, 2011
Visit site
i can't really explain it right now...
but i think you can find it by going into your settings, then about phone, ...
and the lower the number, the better...

Technically, the higher the number the better. Virtually everybody says the lower the number the better. But -80 is technically higher than -100.

NY Jets_6

Dec 21, 2011
Visit site
Yeah kinda confusing because I see ppl mention a number all the time. So I suppose -75 is good (on 3G)

iclickjohn

Dec 5, 2011
Visit site
dBm is the signal level of the data that is coming in from Verizon. I'm no expert on it but I don't think it has anything to do with voice signal, other than perhaps a parallel correlation. The range is from around -60 to around -120. The lower the number the better the signal. For instance, mine was consistently between 100 and 120. You can find the dBm reading by going to settings/about phone/status. For accuracy, hold the phone normal and in the same area for around 30 seconds. When I was driving around to test my signal, I drove slower and stopped now and then to let the signal catch up.
As you can see below, I am now back on my X. I will repurchase the Nexus after I am guaranteed most of the issues are fixed or improved. A 2 year contract is a long time, if we happen to be wrong and they are not addressed.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

NY Jets_6

Dec 21, 2011
Visit site