I've Never Been This Torn...

berdinkerdickle

Nov 18, 2008
Visit site
With almost every phone I've bought, I did lots of research.
I always end up with a phone I really like and then I keep it for the whole duration of my contract.

This time I am really torn.
I can't believe how good the reception is on this phone, but it's just seems way too big for me.
I guess if I was a student or had a desk job where I'd be spending most my time at a desk,
this phablet would be perfect, but it just seems to be too big for the mobile person I am.
I am on my feet a lot, using my phone with one hand. This phablet is a real struggle, if not impossible.

But this thing grabs the signal and holds onto it better than any smartphone I have ever owned.

I'm torn because I can't seem to find where any other smartphone gets the reviews for good reception as the Note 2.
You can read many threads on other smartphones giving most people good reception, but you'll still read those scattered in the thread that it doesn't for them.
The Note 2 gets maybe one bad comment for hundreds of good.

I just don't know what to do.

zkSharks

Retired Moderator
Mar 15, 2011
Visit site
Thought I recognized that name. ;)

That's an interesting situation. I suppose there are only three real options. First, stick with the Note 2 and get used to or deal with the large size. Second, consider changing devices to the Galaxy S4. It wouldn't be a huge departure from the Note 2 (hardware build, TouchWiz, etc.), but I can't guarantee you'll have the same super-solid signal lock. It is Samsung's newest flagship, after all, so the chances are high that you'll have a good experience. Third, consider jumping to a new Android device from a different manufacturer. Say, the HTC One. Perhaps even the upcoming Google Edition of the One or S4 if you're so inclined.

I'm not familiar with the Note 2's internal layout, but I'd be willing to wager that they stuck a nice large antenna in that thing.