What use is my SD card?

Mustachio

Jun 3, 2010
Visit site
I just got my Verizon Note II and put a 32GB SD card into it. I've installed about 2GB worth of apps and files, and all of it is on the internal storage. None of it went to the SD card. I downloaded albums full of music from Amazon MP3 and it put it into the internal storage. I used the File Manager to move the MP3s to my SD card but now Amazon MP3 can't find them. Even telling it to scan my storage returns empty searches. It seems that Amazon MP3 can't scan the SD card; for that matter, I haven't seen a single app that can detect the SD card.

Of course, Settings > Storage sees the SD card; I formatted it using the format option found there.

So I have to ask: WHAT GOOD IS THE SD CARD SLOT??

What do I have to do to make use of that 32GB of free space?

As you can tell, I'm a total noob when it comes to Verizon and Samsung, having come from Sprint and HTC. Love the phone, but I need to get around its quirks.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Google Music and every other music player app (MortPlayer, PowerAmp, MixZing) has been able to locate music on the external SD card of my Razr Maxx. In your case with the Amazon MP3 app, it might have something to do with the fact that you downloaded the music using the app, then moved it manually using a different app. It might be that Amazon MP3 does some kind of indexing when it downloads, and if you move the files, the app can't locate them any more.