Noob ROM question.

truthfamilyfaith

Sep 1, 2012
Visit site
New to android and rooting. Been jail breaking Iphone since 3g. Rooting is much more confusing so far haha. Anyway i rooted, unlocked and flash my gs3.applied cyanogen mod cm10(jelly bean 4.1.2).like I said I'm new to all this so I apologize for the ignorance. But I notice the gestures menu is gone. Like to turn on smart stay and other mostly gimmicky but sweet options. Also the option to clear room on ram is gone. These could be things I'm just not seeing of course. Where they be? Thanks again to all you veterans of Android.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Android Central Forums

paintdrinkingpete

Dec 12, 2009
Visit site
New to android and rooting. Been jail breaking Iphone since 3g. Rooting is much more confusing so far haha. Anyway i rooted, unlocked and flash my gs3.applied cyanogen mod cm10(jelly bean 4.1.2).like I said I'm new to all this so I apologize for the ignorance. But I notice the gestures menu is gone. Like to turn on smart stay and other mostly gimmicky but sweet options. Also the option to clear room on ram is gone. These could be things I'm just not seeing of course. Where they be? Thanks again to all you veterans of Android.

CM10 is an AOSP (Android Open Source Project) based ROM. In other words, it's vanilla, bare-bones Android, much like what you'd get with a Nexus device. Some folks prefer this for it's simplicity; however most the features you mention are specific Samsung features, included with TouchWiz (often abbreviated "TW"), Samsung's proprietary Android launcher.

If you want all the features you mention, I highly recommend a TW-based ROM, over an AOSP one. These are ROMs based off of the official Verizon Samsung S3 firmware.