Completely OT... ...While we wait for VZW

Suntan

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site
So... We're all kinda standing around... waiting for Big Red to send out the goodies. How about some good natured OT chat while we wait?

I’ll start. How about we talk about physics? I’m not a physicist (I’m a mechanical engineer) so I don’t claim to fully understand all these topics (most physicists will acknowledge that they don’t fully understand them either) but I find it mind numbing to try and understand the true nature of the things about us.

Did you know that empty space isn’t really empty?

That even gravity travels at the speed of light?

That an object’s gravity actually impacts how quickly it moves through time?

That time travels slower the faster you are moving?

That you can actually observe events, a long distance away, happening at different points in time just by how quickly you travel towards or away from the event?

That what we can observe in the Universe and what we know is out there based on current models is off? Not by a little, but by a lot. Currently, everything we can see in the Universe only makes up about 4% of what we think is out there.

Let’s just take those in order.