Is this possible? (GPS + Mileage + NFC)

SMD

Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
Hi!

Love my new S3, but I'm curious with NFC capabilities if there's a way using NFC tags, or something like that and an app or two to do the following:

When I get in a car, can I scan a tag or something that opens up an app that tracks my mileage using my phone's GPS? Then, when I'm done, I simply scan a tag that saves my mileage and logs me out. Is there an app like this? I know there are apps that allow me to type in my mileage...BUT, I've come to realize that I'm not good at remembering to write down my mileage for business on an app or on paper and something that handles it for me would be great.

Thanks!

CypherMax

Oct 20, 2010
Visit site
Why not just enable "location history" in Google maps? Works pretty good.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Android Central Forums

SMD

Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
Why not just enable "location history" in Google maps? Works pretty good.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Android Central Forums

How do I do that?

The only thing is...about 1/2 of the time I travel it's for business and I use maps and navigation all the time so I don't want to mix up work with play. My hope is that there is an app out there that can use the built in GPS to record my mileage automatically and then save it when I'm done traveling for business. I figured the NFC thing would be nice too since I thought they allow you to open up apps, etc. My GPS is always on btw so I wouldn't need to turn that on/off.

Any thoughts, suggestions?

Tarpit_Carnivore

Jul 4, 2010
Visit site
Have you checked my tracks? If not it does exactly what you want.

As for automating you're trying to do too much for something that is really simple but yes you could have an NFC badge specifically for opening my tracks.

SMD

Mar 23, 2011
Visit site
Have you checked my tracks? If not it does exactly what you want.