Update Bricked my Phone :(

Worlds2See

May 22, 2011
Visit site
So downloaded and installed the software update. The update seemed to install fine and the phone re-booted and updated apps and what-not. Then it rebooted by itself and now it will not go past the "Samsung Galaxy S3" splash screen (not even to the Verizon splash).

I've tried to boot in recovery/do a hard reset and I can't even get that option. When I hold the Power, Volume Up and Menu key the phone vibrates but nothing happens.

I assume this is a total lost cause and I'm going to have to go to Verizon tomorrow and plead for a replacement but does anybody else have any other ideas?

recDNA

Jun 29, 2011
Visit site
I'm a novice so please excuse me if this is obviously wrong but can you use Odin to install firmware? I suppose you can't connect to computer though.

Beamed from my Galaxy Note 3

Worlds2See

May 22, 2011
Visit site
I have no idea what that even means - so I guess I'm even more of a novice than you are.

Confirmed connection to a computer seems impossible.

imhipper

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
If you took the OTA update and it bricked your phone then Verizon should have no other option then to replace your phone.

Have you tried a battery pull ?

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
I'm a novice so please excuse me if this is obviously wrong but can you use Odin to install firmware? I suppose you can't connect to computer though.

Beamed from my Galaxy Note 3

It might work, but the file needed would have to be available. Last I knew, those files were hard to come by.

From a Sprint Moto X using AC Forums app

imhipper

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
I've tried to battery pull multiple times - but I still can't get it to boot (regularly or in boot recovery).

If you can't boot into recovery then you more than likely can't boot into download mode so the option to use ODIN to flash the 4.3 factory image is not a option anyways.