Verizon S3 4.3 boot loader unlock

jasonn3

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
I'm new at this, i tried to install cyagenmod on my 4.3 s3 for verizon and got nailed with , unatuthorized software, return to store. I got back with odin.

i had rooted my phone with saferoot, put cyagenmod on the sd and when i tried to boot into recovery mode to install i got screwed up..

i know i have to unlock the bootlocker and in 4.3 thats hard, any advice? i was on verizons 4.3 (which i installed OTA from verizon)

TACOrion

Dec 21, 2013
Visit site
1. Return your phone to 4.3 stock
[FIRMWARE] Official VRUCML1 tar file - xda-developers
2. Re-root with Saferoot
[ROOT] Saferoot: Root for VRUEMJ7, MK2, and Android 4.3 - xda-developers
3. Install Safestrap and then you should be able to load CM into a Safestrap partition
[RECOVERY LOCKED] Safestrap Recovery v3.71 [2014-01-10 Alpha] - xda-developers

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM -0.001 using Tapatalk Pro

I have a question regarding the Safestrap procedure, the Safestrap forum alerts "CURRENTLY THERE IS AN UNKNOWN ISSUE WHERE IF YOU HAVE ENCRYPTION ENABLED AND INSTALL SS IT BOOTLOOPS. IF YOU FIT THIS DESCRIPTION PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM SAFESTRAP FOR NOW." I'm not very savvy when it comes to rooting but I don't know if this applies to me. I have successfully rooted using Saferoot and when I go into Download mode it says that I've already flashed a custom ROM (when I actually didn't).

My purpose: I want to start flashing custom roms on my verizon gs3 on 4.3. I've followed different procedures to disable KNOX which has worked but it seems my bootloader is still locked. Any tips?

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
I don't know if this applies to me.
If your phone was encrypted you'd know it - that's something that you would have to enable, and provide a password for.
it seems my bootloader is still locked.