McAfee Moble Security....A good choice?

MacDiver

May 12, 2012
Visit site
I just purchased the Rezound. It will be here in a few days. It's my first smartphone or any internet connected phone for that matter. Yeah, phone noob here! I am retiring the end of June so I got it to travel with. I build my own computers so I'm not a total tech noob though.

After reading lots of reviews on different protection options for antivirus and phone lock-out and tracking protection, I've also purchased McAfee Moble Security ahead of time so all I have to do is download it to the phone. I am really impressed with the fact that if the sim card is removed the phone locks and if a theif puts another sim card in it that the new number displays on their site. The phone can be tracked on a map too even with the new number. However, a firwall wasn't mentioned as being part of the software. What is a good firewall to use that would 't interfere with McAfee?

Since the phone is protected like this I am only going to get the extended warranty from Verizon for 2 bucks a mohth so that will cover the electonics.The McAfee and warranty are still cheaper than if I bought their total protection plan for 6.99 a month.

That sound like a good plan?

Thanks guyz

:)

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Sounds okay. Thankfully virus threats and malware haven't been a big issue on Android phones. I'm sure one day this will change but right now its been keep under control very well.

Only thing that worries me is just like anti virus apps/scanners on your computer at home lagging things up with various background processes running it will do the same to your cell phone.

MacDiver

May 12, 2012
Visit site