Questions Regarding the impending OTA Update and rooting

kwyjibohunter

Jun 24, 2011
Visit site
I rooted my Thunderbolt last week (the long way with the Mac Procedure instructions from the forums here) and didn't do much with it other than move bloatware to my SD card and install the free versions of ROM Manager and Titanium. I haven't really had the reboot issue since I've done this but I'm new to Android (coming from WebOS) and I'm not sure how best to proceed from here.

Should I unroot (if that's even possible from a Mac) and get the update or should I not worry about it and just start looking into flashing a Custom ROM (probably something with Gingerbread like the BAMF ROM)? Will the phone try to update automatically or will I be able to deny the update? Also, am I better off with paying for the full versions of Titatnium and ROM Manager before I flash a new ROM? I'd rather not have to reinstall all of my apps one by one again if I don't have to.

I've been a little skittish on flashing custom ROMs mostly because I haven't had much time to do so and/or fix things if something goes wrong.

tl;dr: Should I ignore the OTA Updates and just dig into custom ROMs?

paintdrinkingpete

Dec 12, 2009
Visit site
Do the ota update its a miracle fixed the boot problem for me. And pro versions are worth it.

^^^ NO! Do not do that ^^^

If you are rooted, it probably won't even let you, but DO NOT attempt to install the OTA update. For one, you will lose root, and that's the best case scenario. Worst case you brick your phone.

There are already ROMs based off of the MR2, you can look into those, or any other ROMs for that matter *if* you want to.

As a general rule of thumb, once you root, you forego the ability to receive updates from your carrier. The advantages that come with rooting do however, in my opinion, heavily outweigh this.