ADWLauncher EX vs Rooting/Roms

Raiders Fan 223

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
So I'm literally torn right now. I've had the TB since last March, and am strongly considering rooting and flashing custom roms. I've done a ton of research on rooting... but my phone is working great now, and I don't want to risk screwing it up.

Do any of you use ADWLauncher Ex on a unrooted phone? Will it affect battery life/performance/usability of certain apps like MyVerizon and Nfl Mobile?

The only reason I would want to root is to add the free mobile hotspot feature. Changing up the UI would be nice, but it seems that I can (apparently?) do that with ADWLauncher.

Do you have a recommendation for an android noob? Thanks :)

worwig

Dec 29, 2010
Visit site
I rooted mine early on so I could do a good weekly backup. Late last year I started playing with alternate roms because of the stock rom ringtone screw up. I wasn't really that unhappy with the stock rom.
I run Go Launcher EX. IMHO the best of the aftermarket launchers. Use 'Desktop Migrate' and it will place most of the icons from Sense onto Go Launcher automatically saving a lot of setup time.
I suspect my battery life suffers from all of the widgets that I have in the screen though. In fact I am going back to Sense for a while to verify that.

Last edited:

androidguy916

Oct 10, 2010
Visit site