Best way to buy Thunderbolt?

Target#AC

Feb 7, 2011
Visit site
Ok, so I'm on a Family Plan that just switched to Verizon from AT&T on Feb 12, I got the Samsung Fascinate (ok, not great) hoping that I could just come back the 24th and return it for the Thunderbolt. Now, since it's looking like around mid-March will be the release, I'm trying to figure out which phone I should stay with until then, since I'll just have to sell it and buy the Tbolt for full retail.

Should I go back and get an iPhone 4 (I would have gotten it when we switched, but the Verizon store didn't get any), since it'll sell for around $400 in perfect condition? I'm really not a fan of iOS, but I can deal for a month.

A follow-up question: Do you think there will be much of a decline to the hefty $750 retail the Tbolt is looking at? Like, will Verizon stores or some other retail sell for $700?

I appreciate the help, I'm pretty new to smartphones. And for the love of God, please don't turn this into a "it'll get released before then", "No it won't!", "Unconfirmed nonsense..." thread. We have plenty of those

jpedroza

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
i would go in to verizon and tell them u just signed up and do not like the fascinate and want to wait for the thunderbolt. maybe bring in an old phone to activate until thunderbolt comes out. definitely find a way to get the thunderbolt.

Target#AC

Feb 7, 2011
Visit site
That's a good idea. I just don't have any Verizon phones to use. Does it have to be a Verizon phone to be activated? My boss has an old iPhone 3GS from AT&T, could that be activated?

jpedroza

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
no that wont work. it has to be a verizon cdma phone. ask around. maybe a friend has an old one. or ask verizon what you should do... if you get a cool enough verizon employee they will tell you what they would do. but definitely get rid of that fascinate asap cuz they will try and lock you in to it.

Target#AC

Feb 7, 2011
Visit site