exchange + android

phantomog

Feb 13, 2011
Visit site
I'm an android newb. Will want to setup my TB for my work email which is an exchange account. What do most people use for exchange email? There is built-in functionality, right? Or most people prefer an app? I've heard of TouchDown... is that the best?

RetiredJedi

Jul 13, 2010
jedi-soljah.iwarp.com

phantomog

Feb 13, 2011
Visit site
Touchdown Exchange is IMO the best of the best - They give 30 day's for free- try it.

can you briefly explain how/why its better than the built-in functionality? Also, when you setup corporate exchange email, is it possible to setup up preferences so that your phone doesn't go off in the middle of the night when you get emails? I work with people all over the world so a good portion of my emails come through in the middle of the night.

ncbryan

Nov 2, 2009
Visit site
I have exchange email on my DInc since the beginning. Super easy to set up. Easy to put signature in email authentically. Only down side is it doesn't have the html view that you are used to on your desktop. If you want that view then Touchdown is a good choice. Try the stock email first, if you don't like it then buy touchdown.

Raptor007

Trusted Member
Apr 18, 2010
Visit site
I use exchange on my android devices, and while I have a license for Touchdown I haven't really been using it, instead I just went with the native exchange app. The only thing I needed Touch Down for was the task stuff.

yaris

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site
Does anyone know if I really need to buy the $44.99 corporate data plan to get access to my work email (which is what the verizon website makes it sound like)? I read one blog post suggesting this is totally unnecessary, but would like some confirmation before pulling the trigger . . . My work email is through Outlook, is probably pretty secure, and is not accessible via webmail.

Thanks!

RkyMtnHigh

Banned
Mar 16, 2011
Visit site