I contacted Verizon tech support in regards to the random rebooting I am having since the update...they indicated this usually occurred when a file or something becomes corrupted during the update. They are suggesting I do a factory reset. I have a zillion apps that I don't want to lose, some of which I paid for. I have never had to do this before...can I back up all my apps somewhere? It would be a nightmare trying to reinstall all of the ones I use, and I don't want to lose anything I've paid for. Do you think a factory reset will solve the problem? Thanks for any help!!
    05-15-2011 12:07 PM
    I am not an expert by any means & probably some of them will weigh in soon.
    AppBrain will back everything up
    That being said, when I moved from my OG Droid to my Thunderbolt, very soon after activating my Thunderbolt, all of my apps were just there on my Thunderbolt

I am not rooted on the Thunderbolt & did not root my OG Droid, fwiw
    05-15-2011 12:55 PM
    Hey man, i just did the factory reset through the phone, not the boot menu, maybe someone could chyme in and say if there is any difference?

But very shortly after I logged back into my phone with google, all my apps were downloaded and installed back on the system, and everything you've downloaded that for whatever reason may not reinstall is in your "my apps/downloads" or whatever it is in the market, it's all tied into your account

KEEP READING:

Just a heads up, and I asked earlier whether there was a difference between the boot menu wipe and the HTC built in factory reset, because I did the reset last night, and with in an hour had a reboot, and have had it reboot yet again today at least once that I've seen. It's not as bad as it was yesterday where it was rebooting 3x in a row or something absurd, I swear I had a dozen in the day..