Verizon LG G2: Unable to set different Text Tones

JayWill

Jun 21, 2011
Visit site
Help. I know how to update the text tones, but that does it on ALL contacts. I am unable to modify a text tone per user? Any advise???

Thanks!

From the reports I've seen so far, that option was removed from or overlooked in the Verzion version software for some unknown reason. The AT&T (and maybe others) version has a section called "Message Alerts" when editing a contact.

unarmedwoody

Sep 19, 2013
Visit site
Guess it's to early to tell if Verizon will fix that?

I must use different text tones for work contacts, do they make an app I can use instead of the stock LG app? IDK if free or pay... what is the best one..

I'm a noob, as I just swapped over from iOS. Ugh, something so simple is my biggest pain :)

TrekkieMonster

Sep 2, 2013
Visit site
NinjaSMS works great...has individual tones and is floating like a chat head.

Posted via Android Central App

Just curious: have you tested whether NinjaSMS (or any of the other apps) work with TextLink? Have already used this feature a couple of times and found it surprisingly handy.

TrekkieMonster

Sep 2, 2013
Visit site
p.s. - does anyone use Verizon Tones, by chance? I'm curious whether the VZW app lets you assign different tones to individual contacts and thinking if so, perhaps this is why Verizon removed this functionality; to drive us to their app. And I promise I'm not a corporate "conspiracy theorist", but it just occurred to me that this might at least explain what is otherwise inexplicable: that is, why they would remove the individual text assignment option in contacts.

unarmedwoody

Sep 19, 2013
Visit site
I looked all around Verizon Tones; basically it's just a place to buy them from. Couldn't find a way to tie a tone back to specific contacts.