Make SMS messages show up on lock screen?

Ian Pearson

May 27, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to the Samsung market (had a Palm Pre 2 for the last 2 years and was glad to see it die), so I'm still learning all the little tricks I can do with my phone. For the life of me, I cannot seem to figure out a way to have my phone show who new sms messages are from or have the body of text on the screen. Sometimes I don't want to have to go into the messages app just to read a message, but would rather get a quick glance. Is there anything I can do to have it show who messages are from and what they say from the lock screen instead of just "New Message"?

I added the messages widget on the side, but still it only shows the first 3 or 4 words of a message.

MBM7881

Feb 4, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to the Samsung market (had a Palm Pre 2 for the last 2 years and was glad to see it die), so I'm still learning all the little tricks I can do with my phone. For the life of me, I cannot seem to figure out a way to have my phone show who new sms messages are from or have the body of text on the screen. Sometimes I don't want to have to go into the messages app just to read a message, but would rather get a quick glance. Is there anything I can do to have it show who messages are from and what they say from the lock screen instead of just "New Message"?

I added the messages widget on the side, but still it only shows the first 3 or 4 words of a message.

The option is available on the S4. I have it on mine. Go into the messaging app, settings, and under notification settings check the preview message box. Hope that helps

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Android Central Forums

godsidekurt

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Yeah I figured it out too...but wondered is there a way to get to the message from the pop up on the lockscreen? No matter how I swipe or tap it doesnt work.

mmf115

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site