Android/S4 Newbie with questions

dotsgurl

Jul 30, 2013
Visit site
Hello all,

Didn?t have much luck with help in the general s4 area so I thought I?d ask my fellow VZW folk. Disclaimer? I am an Android newbie coming from an iphone 5 so my questions may be basic but they are driving me nuts. Thanks in advance for taking the time to help!

Sound settings: Why does the notifications sound trump all other sound settings on the phone? I have a couple of contacts that I have set specific text tones for however those sounds never sound when they text me. Instead I get the default tone that is set in the notifications setting. In addition, I have one contact (texts from twitter) that I want set to silent at all times (no vibrations either) and this setting is unsuccessful as well.

Contact widgets: I have placed two contact widgets on my home screen, however, the widget displays only a fraction of the contact picture and looks terrible. Is there a way that I can resize my widget or contact picture so it looks better and displays the actual picture?

Thanks again! I really have learned a great deal by just reading other threads.

paintdrinkingpete

Dec 12, 2009
Visit site
Hello all,

Didn?t have much luck with help in the general s4 area so I thought I?d ask my fellow VZW folk. Disclaimer? I am an Android newbie coming from an iphone 5 so my questions may be basic but they are driving me nuts. Thanks in advance for taking the time to help!

Sound settings: Why does the notifications sound trump all other sound settings on the phone? I have a couple of contacts that I have set specific text tones for however those sounds never sound when they text me. Instead I get the default tone that is set in the notifications setting. In addition, I have one contact (texts from twitter) that I want set to silent at all times (no vibrations either) and this setting is unsuccessful as well.