Went To a Verizon Store Today. Holy Crap.

Murph5150

Jul 31, 2010
Visit site
I went to Verizon today because my A/C charger was no longer working and I did a warranty exchange. No big deal. So I thought that while I was there, maybe they could respond to a few questions/concerns I had. And from there, things went south fast...

I've never done business before with "professionals" as naive and uninformed as the staff at Verizon. I inquired about why I lose signal at my desk at work but my coworkers who are also Verizon customers but use Motorola phones get between 1 and 2 bars. Her response was a 10 second blank stare followed by a Google query. The result - no answer.

My next question was, "how can I consolidate space on the internal memory and transfer items to my SD card (I have 1GB of internal memory left). She accessed my photo gallery, selected all pictures, and inadvertently deleted my album. Luckily I had already backed my pics up to the Cloud. Then, after noticing that my "accessory" storage held almost 7GB of data, she began to delete files from that folder... Yes, the files that operate the Android OS. Now I'm pissed. The store manager came by to assist and I told him about my internal memory issue. He told me to delete some apps I wasn't using because I was consuming "almost 16GB of space." I informed him that was impossible considering the OS uses roughly 7GB. In an arrogant, belittling manner, he told me the phone comes with 16GB of available space to the consumer. After a quick Google query, I shut his mouth.

Lastly, I hesitantly asked about the radio quality of the HTC M8; an upgrade consideration. Verizon's response - "All phones get the same reception. You lose signal because you're in a building." Bluntly I asked him if he was deaf because I had already explained that Motorola works just fine at my desk, proven by two coworkers sending and receiving calls on their Verizon Motorola phones.