Question on how to partion a sd card

skyscanr

Apr 24, 2011
Visit site
Ok I want to partion my sd card to make it so that app that can not be moved will be placed there .

My phone is rooted and I have down loaded linktosd .

How do I go about making 2 partions on the card .

I am new to this rooting stuff and dont really know where to look for the right info for this phone .

I have 2 cards so i can back up just in case

heelsfandave

Mar 1, 2011
Visit site
I used MiniTool Partition Wizard Home Edition - it's a free program that runs under windows. You can connect your phone via usb and repartition the sd card without losing the data. I had to format the new partition as FAT32 (tried ext2, but it did not work).

skyscanr

Apr 24, 2011
Visit site
I used MiniTool Partition Wizard Home Edition - it's a free program that runs under windows. You can connect your phone via usb and repartition the sd card without losing the data. I had to format the new partition as FAT32 (tried ext2, but it did not work).

Well this worked well . I at first tried it with just a fat32 and then a swap ,ext2,ext3 and it did not sem to work as far as adding memeory to my phone.

I then just did 2 fat 32 partitions and used linktosd and it seems to work .

I have a extra card and going to try and do 2 fat 32 partitions and the just a ext2 and a swap and see what happens on a extra card

Thanks for all the help no I can reinstall a few apps that I just did not have the memory for :) like Hbo Go

qwer123123

Nov 5, 2012
Visit site
I had the issue before. I searched online and found some partition tool. it can help you manage your card. the product name is EaseUS.you can search it online.

jAdOg@88

Jun 17, 2012
Visit site
In my experience, it's always better to partition the sdcard with the phone you are using. Most all custom recoveries have the partition sdcard in the menu.
I know of others and myself who have messed up their sdcard by using the mini tool or other agents via USB.