New to Android, please recommend an e-reader app!

braj

Jul 19, 2010
Visit site
I'm coming from Palm OS (the OLD Palm OS!) and have .pdb files, I'd love to just switch over, they aren't DRM'd but ones I've made from PDF books. I just want the best reading experience and don't really have any need to buy books, as I am more interested in religious texts I already have handy.

Can someone recommend the best, easiest path to move over once my Captivate arrives? Thanks in advance! I have no Android experience but I am generally pretty tech-savvy. I can adapt the books to epub as necessary, no worries.

JackImageX

Jul 15, 2010
Visit site
I don't know of a good reader app for Android (I'm new to it also) but you might want to try Calibre to convert them to another format that something like the Kindle app could use.

calibre - E-book management

I've used it with the Kindle and my co-workers use it with the Kindle app. It works great doing the conversions.

Paladin

Apr 26, 2010
Visit site
I am also an old PalmOS user before I got my Pre and now Evo. The best way is to use Calibre as Jack said.
It is a PC/MAC/Linux application
http://calibre-ebook.com/

Convert your old Ebooks to ePub format. Then get Aldiko, it is the best
Ebook reader available for Android that I have ever found. Aldiko uses ONLY the ePub format.

There are other Android readers that support other formats but in the end I found that just converting to ePub and using Aldiko was the best option for me. It also allows you to download publicly available eBooks free.

Aldiko Book Reader - Android app on AppBrain
chart

EDIT: Thanks to this thread I am now using iReader over Aldiko.
http://www.appbrain.com/app/com.chaozh.iReader
chart

Since you are new if you have not yet downloaded Barcode Scanner do so. It allows you to take a snapshot of these QR codes right from webpages that takes you directly to the appbrain store.