Bloatware

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Pyrin170 said:
Ok, so I've rooted my Epic 4g with the appropriate programs and everythings gone successfully so far. My ultimate goal in rooting was to remove all the background running programs that we're placed on my Sprint phone to provide betting smoother running conditions for my preferred apps. I wanted to ask some questions as this is my first time rooting a phone.
I've got extensive PC experience but my xp with accessories is limited. I'm familiar with various tools and operations.
Now to my questions:
Removing the bloatware, do I accomplish this by flashing or replacing a custom built OS over the one in the phone or is their a way to remove the bloatware from the current install with my newly gained root access without deleting my existing system or messing up my current installs?
If I have to replace the entire system, where would I find a bloatware free version of the same OS that Sprint had on their? and also, would it be possible to save and reinstall my games, apps, and files without losing my progress, passwords, or content?

I really appreciate all the assistance your videos have provided me already, I'm still learning and researching these things as I go, but I'm a quick learner. Thank you for your assistance.
smile.png

Seeing how your main goal is to remove unwanted bloatware and have better application management I will suggest the following.

Your rooted, stock I take it. Doesn't matter which OS.. Froyo/GB etc...

1. Make a Nandroid Backup of your current setup in CWM. Using the backup/restore option. This way you have this to return to as a working untouched setup.

2. Use Titanium Backup (FREE) from the Market. This will list all the applications and system apps on your device and all you to make a backup of the application and then either freeze or remove it.