Rooting n00b question

graffix31

Jul 10, 2011
Visit site
noob here to to android. Waiting on my sd card before rooting next week. Do you not loose everything when you actually root using Odin? Or is it just when flashing a rom?

dtm_stretch

Awesome Possum
Oct 24, 2010
Visit site
Just when flashing a ROM because you have to do a factory wipe and wipe all the Caches. (To my understanding)

To an extent. You can always restore back ups of apps via my back up root or tb plus there is always the advanced restore of a nandroid back up. Also of note, if you are using odin to flash a stock you will lose data but a lot of the odin tars now do not over write data.

graffix31

Jul 10, 2011
Visit site
here is a question for a root noob to android. i rooted last night and installed a new + kernel. everything went fine have titanium up and running. my question is if i want to change kernels do i just flash over the one i just installed?
thanks

JayWill

Jun 21, 2011
Visit site
here is a question for a root noob to android. i rooted last night and installed a new + kernel. everything went fine have titanium up and running. my question is if i want to change kernels do i just flash over the one i just installed?
thanks

Yep. Just flash over it. Often times you'll keep pieces of your previous flash, such as CWM and SU depending on what's packaged with the new kernel.

Here's an example ... so say your currently using the LoStKernel, and you want to keep it, but you want to get rid of the yellow triangle on a fresh boot. You would flash Bubby323's stock kernel, go through the steps to remove the triangle, then re-flash the LoStKernel. The end result should be LoStKernel with no boot triangle with the same root and CWM.

Reactions: graffix31

dragonol2

Aug 12, 2010
Visit site
Yep. Just flash over it. Often times you'll keep pieces of your previous flash, such as CWM and SU depending on what's packaged with the new kernel.