ROM (CM) update scrambles my HTC - advice??

litebulb97

Jan 2, 2014
Visit site
Hi All,

I've got an unlocked and rooted HTC One S (ClockworkMod 5.8.1.5/S-ON) and am running CyanogenMod (CM). Currently I am having some big problems - I'm a beginner/intermediate and have rooted, unlocked, installed various roms before.

1. Phone asked to download newest CM Rom version and install and I said yes. It does its thing.
2. Next time I go to look at it the entire screen is scrambled with blue lines criss-crossing the display. I reboot and it's the same.
3. Since I have ClockworkMod, I reboot into recovery mode. I have tried: wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache partition, install zip from sdcard (both update.zip and the CM zip - which I am not sure where it came from since I bought the phone used).
4. None of these measures seems to be working, reboot and the screen remains 'scrambled' with various lines criss-crossing the display (I have let it sit in this state for a period and a legible update screen appears, but disappears and then it's the same old).

The phone isn't bricked, so I am trying to load a different rom onto the memory but am having trouble doing so. I go into Clockwork recovery mode, attach via USB, and try mounting various folders, but my PC (Win 7 & 8) only claims it is a removable disk (when clicked 'please insert removable disk' and nothing else). FTR: I have tried installing the HTC One S drivers and HTC sync to no avail - ie; I've put it into recovery mode and attached the USB cable - no dice.

I'm pretty much out of ideas for this phone. I cannot book into the rom to enable it as a USB device, and since the HTC One S doesn't have an SD slot, I cannot put a rom onto a micro card).

Thoughts?

Thanks!

JRDroid

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Did you make a backup before you updated (or ever)? If so, have you tried flashing the back up to see if it will boot?