Nexus 5 Google Play vs T-Mobile version what is the difference?

retrolike

Dec 13, 2013
Visit site
Quick question for you android folks. Is there a difference between the Nexus 5 sold by Google vs the Nexus 5 that T-Mobile sells? I found a guy on craigslist that is selling his T-Mobile Nexus 5 for $300 and I'm interested. However, I'm hoping its identical to the one sold by Google. I'm an AT&T customer and I would want it to work on their network and get the updates from Google easily. I'm brand new to android (been an iOS user since 2007). I would appreciate your help, thanks in advance.

foxbat121

Jan 28, 2011
Visit site
Re: Nexus 5 Google Play vs T-Mobile version

There is only one version sold in North America (other than different storage sizes). Play store, Sprint and T-Mobile all sell the same exact phone.

retrolike

Dec 13, 2013
Visit site

Thanks for the help. I'm an iOS user since 2007 that is trying to make the switch to android for the 3rd time. We'll see how this goes.

mattopotamus

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site

Thanks for the help. I'm an iOS user since 2007 that is trying to make the switch to android for the 3rd time. We'll see how this goes.

Just be smart and hang on to your iphone until you are 100% sure. There is nothing worse than jumping the gun and selling your old phone and wishing you had it back.

anon(5719825)

Retired Moderator
Feb 21, 2013
Visit site

Just be smart and hang on to your iphone until you are 100% sure. There is nothing worse than jumping the gun and selling your old phone and wishing you had it back.

This. I saved my iPhone and after using the Nexus 4 fir nearly a year, I'm going back to iOS and bought a 5S a few weeks ago. Now if only I could sell my Nexus 4. I'm noticing people are having to lower the price to at least $150 or less to sell. Such a loss. I sold a 4S for $300 a few weeks ago and that paid for my 5S.

I'll wait and see what next years Nexus offers.

mattopotamus

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site