How do I know if my Nexux 5 has USB host support?

tomorrowisalongtime

Jan 7, 2015
Visit site
Hello.

I want to download an app to control my DSLR camera, but the app description says I should make sure I have a USB OTG cable and my phone has USB host support. I have a NON-rooted Nexus 5 running Lollipop 5.0.1. I've been searching the web trying to figure out how to check if my phone has USB host support, but I haven't come across anything that can confirm or deny this.

I'm a complete noob, so any help or input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

PS.- This is the app I want to try out:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.dslr.dashboard&hl=es

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
As far as I can find, the Nexus 5 supports USB host mode out of the box when it's running Lollipop. It supports OTG with "helper apps". According to the app's Play page, it works with 4.0 or later, so it may be one of those helper apps. (The app is free, and the only difference between an 84 cent [shipping included] OTG cable on eBay and a $39.95 OTG cable is the name on the connector. The 1/4" of wire that makes a straight microUSB-to-USB-female cable an OTG cable is just wire - even if it were gold it wouldn't be worth the $39 difference. [And if the Samsung OTG cable quality is anything like the quality of the connectors in the cable they supplied with the Precedent phone, I'd rather take my chances with a Chinese knockoff. The connector on that cable fell apart - and I'm easy on my cables. My $2 OTG cable has been working for about a year - with no problems, and it feels well made.] So buy a cable, install the app and try it. If it doesn't work, you still have an OTG cable and you can still mount flash drives, connect mice and keyboards, etc.)

camanokid

Jul 9, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for the question. I hadn't tried my SD card file transfer since installing LP.
My camera has a SD Card.

I have: