What eBook format to use/buy?

kgilbertsen

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to the Nexus, and am interested in using it to read ebooks. I have never used an eBook reader.

I've downloaded a few different readers (Aldiko, Cool Reader, FBReader) and am now looking to add books. Is there a particular format that I need to download/use? Or can I download any format, and the readers I've got can handle them all?

tmaze

Sep 11, 2012
Visit site
Kindle for Android let's you read kindle books. I think B&N has one for Nook. I had problems with aldiko, but someone suggested Mantano Reader for epub books that have Adobe DRM.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Android Central Forums

kgilbertsen

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
Thanks.

I ordered and downloaded 3 books from ebooks.com. All 3 can be read using the ebooks reader, but only 1 of the 3 can be read using any of the other readers I have installed. Any ideas on why that's happening?

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
Thanks.

I ordered and downloaded 3 books from ebooks.com. All 3 can be read using the ebooks reader, but only 1 of the 3 can be read using any of the other readers I have installed. Any ideas on why that's happening?

its better to buy it from non DRM than DRM like Anazon/Nook.
its hassle free.

kgilbertsen

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
So, is there no way to "fix" this issue? It seems to me that these readers should be able to open an ePub book, shouldn't they?

If not, is there a way to tell if an eBook is DRM or non_DRM before it's purchased?

Thx

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
So, is there no way to "fix" this issue? It seems to me that these readers should be able to open an ePub book, shouldn't they?

If not, is there a way to tell if an eBook is DRM or non_DRM before it's purchased?

Thx

you can buy it on any format but before buying make sure the selling sells drm free books.

for example i know amazon sells drm books. so before buying look at the support page to see if it is drm free.