antivirus app recommendation for the new nexus 7?

alysariah

Aug 2, 2013
Visit site
I feel I need to get some antivirus protection on my new device. I am new to android and would like to know what you veterans recommend.

jd914

Banned
Feb 3, 2010
Visit site
Android veteran here, been on Android since Eclair. You absolutely do NOT need antivirus of any kind. Just make sure you get all apps from the Play Store and you'll never run into issues. Viruses don't exist on Android. I have never gotten malware or any virus. All Malware and virus programs are just bloatware and a total waste of money, don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
You don't need an antivirus as long as you only download apps from playstore.
to make it even safer. download apps which is popular and have good reviews -- Optional

also, play service now has a build in antivirus scanner which scans side loaded apps. Playstore apps are scanned by google on their server
dont check unknown source and there is no way an app can install itself.

PATHIAN

Jul 13, 2011
Visit site
I love Kaspersky products, but currently KMS (Kaspersky Mobile Security) doesn't support Android 4.3.

NOTE: If you try installing KMS from the Google Play Store, it will point out the Nexus 7 2013 is incompatible, but I normally download the APK from Kaspersky's server which was how I managed to install it.

I've tried it with my Nexus 7 2013 and at first glance it works okay, but some websites fail to load properly (e.g. Deviantart.com) with a 404 error. Same with certain apps, such as the Drippler Nexus 7 app. Once I moved to AVG Free for Android the issues went away. It's a shame, but until KMS supports 4.3 I'll have to wait to use my personal favourite AV products on my Nexus.

harryhoudini66

Jul 21, 2013
Visit site