Proper charging of the Nexus 7 with a Qi charger

gtcharlie

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
Just bought a RAVPower Qi charger for my Nexus 7 and love it. Very easy to use and charges my tablet with my Poetic Slimline case on so that is a big plus. My question is this- does it affect the battery at all to give it small charges from time to time rather than letting it drain almost completely and then fully charging? The latter method is the one I used to use when I would plug in overnight after a full days use. With the Qi charging pad it is so easy to just drop the tablet on the pad when not using and let it charge some. This method allows me to always have a pretty well charged battery. But does this method affect battery life in any way? I have seen varying thoughts on this but nothing definitive. Thanks.

jerrykur

Sep 30, 2010
Visit site
I have been using Qi charging pads for a couple of years with no ill effects. Charging or topping off a LiIon battery is best for a LiIon battery. Completely draining before charging is the worse thing you can do. That practice is a hold over from the NiCad days. So continue using your Qi charger to top off your device.

This article has some basic tips that match what I do.

Five tips for extending lithium-ion battery life - TechRepublic

gtcharlie

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
Yep. I can tell that already. I think the thing I liked least about my Nexus was the USB connection. Always felt like trying to get that plug connected was going to destroy it. With the Qi charger it is incredibly simple. The only drawback I can see is the time it takes to charge a device. Any idea if removing from the case quickens the pace of the charge? Not really necessary I guess but there are times when that would come in handy. Maybe I will try a test this evening to see if no one provides an answer.

jerrykur

Sep 30, 2010
Visit site