Ok I'm confused.....(Vanilla Android VS Sense UI)

SdotJ

Aug 3, 2010
Visit site
First off this is my first android device and my first encounter with htc sense in this form. With all the vanilla android talk andy tomas of people using launchers , why is vanilla android better? Image confused by the hate for htc sense. Besides getting updates faster what am I missing. Is the hate because of the thought that the custom UI will cause update problems or because we will have to depend on the carrier to push updates. Like I said I'm still relatively new to android and learning all types of good things about the OS but this confuses me. I have seen the nexus one and vanilla android and honestly most would still prefer a launcher. So could somebody educate me on why nobody imo likes sense in favor of vanilla android.

Last edited by a moderator:

RayStinkle

Apr 30, 2010
Visit site
sense is the best of them all, and i do like it. but i prefer vanilla android on my nexus by far. but next in line would be sense. i HATE moto's new UI as well as samsungs UI. puke.

if the manufacturers did not add their own UI, and instead just included their own apps in widgets in the form of .apk files built into the ROM, think about how easy android life would be. 2.2 could release and all devices could be updated that same week or so. granted some testing and customizing would have to be done for each device, but nothing major at all. its like the iphone how all the phones can kinda grab the same OS. it would just make the whole experience of the platform that much better for everybody.

i swear the other day in the ATT store, 3 android phones were next to each other, galaxy s, backflip, and aria. and the customer asked about them and the sales rep didnt even know they were all android. all she said was "this one has apps, but not that one doesnt have apps". i had to butt in and say they were all android phones. sad state of affairs i'm afraid:(

Mikey47

Jun 8, 2010
Visit site