Security for Flyer?

hummingbirdhill

Apr 6, 2011
Visit site
I'm considering the WaveSecure from McAfee for protection and have discovered that this product includes some bonus advantages such as backup, tracking, remote wipe, etcetera. An android version exists. A trial is available. I'd like to know if y'all think this is essential for safe mobile tableting . . . And here's the url that I'm studying:
https://www.wavesecure.com/wavesecure/android.aspx

And no, I don't work for McAfee or receive a commission. ;-) (I just adamantly prefer their products and wouldn't consider purchasing any kind of digital security from anyone else.)

bouncing

Feb 28, 2011
kenkinder.com
I have WaveSecure on my phone, but I haven't installed it on my tablet.

I have used the tracking feature on my phone, and while the GUI is pretty bad (you hit a button, then refresh the page occasionally), it helps to confirm approximately where your phone is if you lose it. You can also have it sound an alarm, which is helpful when it's under the couch.

I haven't tried Remote Wipe, but I assume it uses the standard Android SDK Device Admin feature for that. I wouldn't call it a "bonus advantage" because if you have sensitive data on your device, you do want to do a remote wipe if it's lost or stolen.

But the "backup" is pointless, since your contacts are in the cloud anyway.

Just on an initial consideration, I wouldn't use that on my tablet because if the tablet is stolen, it most likely won't have a data connection. WaveSecure only helps if your device is connected to the Internet and able to receive remote instructions.

Also, I think HTC Sense has a remote wipe / location service, but I haven't tried it and on Consumerist a while ago, it didn't work at all for some users.

solar

May 24, 2011
Visit site
I have WaveSecure on my phone, but I haven't installed it on my tablet.