HTC One M7 bricked after failed encryption - factory reset failing. How can I fix this?

pexter

Apr 8, 2015
Visit site
HTC One M7 bricked after failed encryption - factory reset failing

UPDATE: SOLVED
As you guys are incredibly slow :D (jk, love ya all <3), I googled and learned how to work with adb & fastboot on my Mac. So I rooted the phone and installed Cyanogenmod 12. The phone is operational again.

Thanks anyway!

---------8<-------------

A tremendous noob here. And most likely a certifiable *****, but my mom hasn't had me tested yet.

Never rooted a phone in my life or even accessed a recovery console before. Was playing with options to encrypt my Stock M7 with Lollipop (carrier OTA version), fully aware of the risk of a factory reset should it fail. Was okay with it. Except the factory reset doesn't work. So I'm no longer okay with it, as the phone is bricked.

Boots into recovery console that reports error in mounting /data:

E:missing bitmap oem_unlock_bg (Code -1)
E:missing bitmap oem_unlock_bg_yes (Code -1)
E:missing bitmap oem_unlock_bg_no (Code -1)
E:missing bitmap icon_ruu (Code -1)
Backup necessary files in data partition
E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument).. try emmc mount
Formatting /cache...
Data wipe failed.

Running data wipe manually from the menu (option "wipe data/factory reset") seems to be successful:

-- Wiping data...
Backup necessary files in data partition
E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument).. try emmc mount
Formatting /cache...
Data wipe complete.

Wiping cache partition manually (option "wipe cache partition") is also successful:

-- Wiping cache...
Formatting /cache...
Cache wipe complete.

Checking recovery logs hints at non-existence of

/devlog/scid.bin
/tmp/last_install

Reeboot to bootloader loads this phone info:

*** LOCKED ***
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-ON RH
HBOOT-1.61.0000
RADIO-4T.35.3218.16
OpenDSP-v35.120.274.0718
OS-7.19.401.2
eMMC-boot 2048MB
Feb 12 2015, 15:22:10.1331