Flashing ROM issue?

jml9153

Jun 12, 2014
Visit site
So just to be sure I understand this and don't brick my phone.. I download and extract that file and put it in the backup folder for twrp and then restore it like any other backup as opposed to installing a ROM .zip like I would with a new ROM, and despite being on GPE ROM, it should work?

Posted via the Android Central App

NEXUS_HTC_PS

Nov 21, 2013
Visit site
So just to be sure I understand this and don't brick my phone.. I download and extract that file and put it in the backup folder for twrp and then restore it like any other backup as opposed to installing a ROM .zip like I would with a new ROM, and despite being on GPE ROM, it should work?

No. Extract and Flash the firmware in RUU mode first. Then boot into recovery and flash the entire nand backup.

Posted via Android Central App

jml9153

Jun 12, 2014
Visit site
I've never used ruu mode before. How do I get my phone into ruu mode? And do I do both extract and flash software in ruu mode?

I'm just confused on which file is the backup and which one I'm flashing? Maybe because I've never used ruu mode?

I really appreciate your patience with me. I didn't imagine running into this many problems and obstacles

NEXUS_HTC_PS

Nov 21, 2013
Visit site
That's fine.
1. Extract the firmware.zip from the back up with 7-zip on your pc.
2.While in fastboot, type command on your pc /fastboot oem rebootRUU(your phone will then reboot to a black screen with HTC silver letters)And make sure the firmware is in the same folder as your fastboot and adb applications.
3.While in RUU mode type/ fastboot flash zip firmware.zip
4. Run that same exact command again/fastboot flash zip firmware.zip Always flash firmware zips twice!
5.Now type/ fastboot reboot-bootloader
6.Now you just get into twrp and restore from the nand backup you put in the twrp folder.

jml9153

Jun 12, 2014
Visit site