Frustrated Newbie ot Android...

AlpineAddict

Dec 3, 2013
Visit site
Hi folks

100% Newbie here so please be gentle... Having just left the iPhone after god knows how long and now on my new HTC One M8, I am slightly frustrated about a few things... Not frustrated in a "Why didn't I just stick with my iPhone" way, more frustrated out of not understanding...

So, hopefully I can keep this thread going over the next couple of weeks with questions that I may have... please... First and foremost...

Frustration No.1 - I have downloaded Skype as I use it daily for my work... However, when I am using it on my Mac, my phone beeps also every time a message pops up, and it's driving me mad, and I can't for the life of me work out how to actually 'close' it... I have been to the 'recent Apps' section and got rid of everything in there, but Skype was not even showing... Help please !!!!

Frustration No.2 - in my 'Apps' section, I seem to be using 10gb of my 16gb storage. Can you get rid of a lot of the default Apps that I know I am never going to use... Amazon, Kindle, etc. etc...

Thx loads in advance folks...

AlpineAddict

Dec 3, 2013
Visit site
Ahh ok... I did see that you could actually sign out, but I figured, being an old iPhone user, that simply closing the App was all you would need to do to 'close' it.. Sorted I think...

scottysize

Jul 4, 2011
Visit site
Removing Stock Apps:

In the past, it's always been that you cannot remove the standard apps unless you don't want to ever receive a new update. The update will not install if part of the original program is missing. At least that's how it use to work. I don't know about the M8. What we always recommend is "freezing" the stock apps, but that will not remove them from your device.