The M9 has actually a great camera, tuned badly by HTC's software!

petvas72

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
Have a look here: Photos Taken With M9 - Post #274 - XDA Forums

I have tested these settings myself and while I am no expert in photography, I saw an immediate improvement compared to the default settings. I wonder why HTC cannot get the automatic settings right...
Have a look in the XDA thread, test the recommendation and post your impressions.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Thank you for an interesting post. I've said it before, it's not the camera that makes the picture, it's the photographer. Knowing your camera is 9/10ths of the battle.

bigrey81

Jun 7, 2010
Visit site

I have tested these settings myself and while I am no expert in photography, I saw an immediate improvement compared to the default settings. I wonder why HTC cannot get the automatic settings right...
Have a look in the XDA thread, test the recommendation and post your impressions.

It's like night and day. Wow! Much improved thanks

Posted via the Android Central App

neo905

Apr 4, 2014
Visit site
My conclusion. HTC should hire this guy. But seriously, how can a guy just randomly figure this out when HTC has software engineers who seem to have no idea what they are doing and have been working on it for several months. It's promising and disheartening at the same time that they couldn't get it optimized in time for the launch and endured more backlash on their camera.

Last edited:

petvas72

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
I think it's pretty obvious that HTC should tune the automatic mode to use an ISO value of 200 max (or maybe 400 in some cases). Sharpness should go down too. What is more important though is to use the 10:7 aspect ratio for pictures and a maximum of 16Mpixels...Maybe the camera should be 16MPixel and not 20..

msm0511

Trusted Member
Aug 23, 2014
Visit site