New to android

M3Stang

Oct 25, 2014
Visit site
Hey guys I'm new to android. Been an iPhone user since 2008. The 6 just didn't seem too great to me over what I already had which was the 5. I said to myself that if the 6 disappointed me that I may get an S5. Once I saw the 6 plus in the apple store I fell in love with the bigger phone. Sold my iPhone 5 and even bought a case and screen protector in preparation of receiving my plus. After going store after store to no avail I stumbled upon the note 4 at best buy the other day. I thought it was pretty cool so I decided to give it a shot. Figured if I didn't like it in could return it in 2 weeks and get the plus which is what I guess you could say is my "comfort zone". Anyway so I got the note 4 this morning and have been messing with it all day and boy do I like it. I'm not at all used to this os as is expected after 6 years of ios but it's pretty cool. Some things bother me about it like all of these preloaded apps. Reminds me of a pre built windows computer which is why I usually buy macs lol. Apparently there are ways to get rid of them but it could mess the phone up from what I've read. Another thing I don't like is how I can't swipe back and forth on Web pages just by moving my finger back and forth across the screen. Besides these things though I think that the phone is really cool and packed with a bunch of neat features. I so far really love the camera and the display. I may actually decide to keep it. I wanted to know, what are some features the die hard android guys are into? What are some cool things I can do with this phone? I know android is open source which I love. Reminds me of Linux. Are there any cool open source apps anyone would recommend? Like for office style things like word? Anything cool. I really am trying to get into the other major side of smartphones. Just looking for the right avenues into android. Thanks and I'm looking forward to being a member of this community!