Holy Crap! How did GMail get my contacts?!

JetJock79

Oct 5, 2010
Visit site
Hello again everyone,

After asking some questions on here about the Droid X that I want to get,...someone had advised to start a GMail account so I can get things ready to sync my contacts and calendar once I got the phone. I decided to do so last night, and after setting up a new account, and linking it to my BB......I pulled up the contact list and BAM! All my contacts were on GMail!

My question is.....where the hell did GMail pull my contacts from? Did it get them off my phone once I set up a new e-mail account from my phone? Does Google know more about me than they'd like to say? Sorry if this question sounds dumb....but I'm fairly new to Android and Google services. Thanks!

Skatedawg

ROM Abuser
Jul 27, 2010
Visit site
Welcome

JetJock79,

Welcome to the world of Android. So im going to assume that you had your contacts transferred onto your phone at the store or whatever. When you make your G-mail account for the first time, it will begin to sync automatically. It all works in the background for you to back up your contacts, calendar, and gmail emails. This is a great community, so feel free to ask questions.

JetJock79

Oct 5, 2010
Visit site
I don't have the phone yet. I just opened a new GMail account last night, and then set that account up with my BlackBerry (now have both my hotmail and gmal accounts on that phone). Once I set up the gmail account,, and then went on my phone to set it up there so I could get push e-mail......I logged back on to my gmail account after a couple of test e-mails (was checking speed of delivery). I hopped onto the contact list just to start exploring.....and BAM....all my contacts from my phone where on there. I just want to know where Gmail pulled them from because I didn't authorize anything. I'm not upset, just curious. Did they come from my phone, or did Gmail pull from my Outlook?

davidnc

Super Moderator
Jun 8, 2010
Visit site