SD Card Recommendation

komobu

Sep 25, 2013
Visit site
I am a limo driver and spend several hours in the car waiting. I am wanting to rip some dvds to a sd card, and then watch them on my 10.1 2014 tablet while I am waiting. Once the movies are watched, I will delete them and record new ones to the sd card. Which Sd card should I buy? Are they all the same or should I look for one with higher write/read speeds? What type of sd card would you recommend?

PS...I would also like to be able to remove it and plug it into my windows 7 machine for transferring the movies to it so I will probably need a usb adapter or something. What is the best type of device to get if I will be plugging it in and unplugging it (both on the tablet and my windows computer) on a regular basis? The first DVD I am buying is season 1 of homeland. Is a 64gb sd card big enough?

Thanks for any advice

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Although most well-known brands are pretty much the same in quality, SanDisk is known to have the best warranty. The more important thing is to get the card from a reputable store or seller, preferably a bricks-and-mortar store. Cards from random online sellers are higher risk for being counterfeit.

Class 10 is probably the standard for read-write speed, and should be more than adequate. The only kind of adapter you'd need is a microSD-to-fullsize SD adapter. Many microSD cards come with the adapter, but if you don't have one, they're very cheap to buy on Amazon or elsewhere. http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-micro...ag=hawk-future-20&ascsubtag=UUacUvbUpU4900766

Dale_M

Jan 8, 2014
Visit site
My Windows machine (XP - I know old) can direct write to tablet or card, through USB port, Windows just sees tablet memory and SD cards as extended memory such as a thumb drive....