Phone says battery is charging when it's NOT plugged in.

tootallcotton

Nov 15, 2011
Visit site
I've been having all kinds of problems with my new Samsung Galaxy Precedent. Last night, I unplugged it from the charger to carry it into kitchen. When I did it beeped - like it normally does when you plug the charger in. I looked to see what the beep was and the battery icon was "scrolling or moving" as if to indicate it was charging. How can it be charging when it's NOT plugged in? I plugged it back in and nothing changed. I turned it off and back on. I now can't turn it on without it being plugged into charger. Also took battery out and also did a factory restore. It's crazy! I have no idea. I'm new to the android phone world as this is my first.
So I left it charging all night, this morning grabbed phone to head to work and the screen says "charged" and has the little plug-in icon next to it like it does when it's charging. Again the phone had been unplugged. So I come on to work and about halfway thru the day it's still saying "charged" which is unusual b/c the battery usually goes down by mid afternoon. So I turned the phone off and back on and it was showing the battery icon at the top corner indicates that it's charging (yet not plugged in). And the % was now showing on the unlock screen saying 18% so I plugged it in.
Please tell me how the battery charging/not charging can seem to be reversed????
Thanks in advance for anything you can help me with.

PoorBoy52760

Banned
Oct 11, 2011
Visit site