Clarification On Apps To SD on S3

touchdowntn

Jul 11, 2012
Visit site
I am completely new to Android and smart phones entirely. From what I have read searching this forum is that on older versions of Android, apps or at least some apps could be saved on the SD card. It is my understanding also that either ICS 4.0 or Samsung has blocked apps from being able to be saved to the SD card. Is this correct that on the S3 that apps can ONLY be saved to the internal memory???

krusej23

Jul 3, 2012
Visit site
I looked into it on my phone this morning and I can't figure out how to save them to the SD card either. I used to do that on my old phone running 2.3.

tdeanhoward

Sep 9, 2011
Visit site
My understanding is that starting with 4.0 apps to sd was no longer available. What i read said that the sd card is to slow and to keep apps running as they should, they can now only be stored on the faster internal memory. At least that is my understanding of it.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2

Reactions: Soundtrack to Chaos

beh

Oct 13, 2011
Visit site
My non-technical understanding is that programs can and are installed on the factory installed internal SD card but that under ICS they can't be installed to a user installed ext-sd card. Only data can be stored on the ext-SD card. Under previous Android OS's there were programs that would allow you to move some installed programs from the internal SD card to the ext-SD card.
I am sure I will be corrected by those more knowledgeable than I if the above is incorrect. ;)

anon(181017)

Feb 20, 2011
Visit site
My understanding is also that the apps to sd feature was removed on ICS... but like everyone else I'm not an expert and I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. You used to be able to do it right from the stock applications menu, and click "move to SD" for apps that allowed it. Now you can't.